Falling In Love

I’m in love with my husband.

It’s weird, because I don’t think I was in love with my husband last year. I don’t think I was in love with him two years ago. I definitely don’t think I was in love with him when we got engaged.

 

I think most people would have said we were. I sure thought I was.

 

But what I have now. Wow. It was nothing compared to this. I wasn’t in love then. That was like having a light bulb in the basement when now you have the sun.

 

I remember leaning against the car back in our dating days, staring up at the starry sky with him on a visit to his college. I remember feeling, Is this what being in love is like? I had no idea there was so much more to this. This is an entire world I’ve barely tapped into. 

Now, I feel that way again. There’s so much more. I’m in love with him. It defies what I could have imagined a year ago. He’s blossoming into me and I’m blossoming into him; I’m taking the best of his personality and it’s becoming mine, and I’m watching the best of me come alive in him. We’re growing into unity in a way that makes my head spin.

 

I like this. I like it a lot.

It makes me feel like there’s so much more to life, so much good, that I have yet to learn.

Leave a Reply

