Feel the Love (Myers-Briggs Style)

Do you know your Myers-Briggs?

I’m an INFP married to an ENTJ, twin sister to an ENFJ, the daughter of an ENFP.

And what are all these weird little letters I’m talking about?

If you haven’t taken your quiz, (or you did and forgot cause you didn’t care) I encourage you to go do it. The letters stand for the following: (and this is straight from the Myers-Briggs website.)

Favorite world: Do you prefer to focus on the outer world or on your own inner world? This is called Extraversion (E) or Introversion (I).

 

Information: Do you prefer to focus on the basic information you take in or do you prefer to interpret and add meaning? This is called Sensing (S) or Intuition (N).

 

Decisions: When making decisions, do you prefer to first look at logic and consistency or first look at the people and special circumstances? This is called Thinking (T) or Feeling (F).

 

Structure: In dealing with the outside world, do you prefer to get things decided or do you prefer to stay open to new information and options? This is called Judging (J) or Perceiving (P).

Your combination is that set of letters, in my case INFP, and… what the heck is the use of it? Who cares?

It’s not just an internet quiz that tells you which Dr Who character you most resemble. (Even though it can help with that extremely important quest.) Its benefits lie in understand yourself and everyone else.

Some really wonderful websites are now devoted to describing, accurately, each type, and I’ve really been shocked. Already in one weekend I find myself understanding the weaknesses of my spouse, parents, and siblings and forgiving their flaws with an ease I’ve never had before. I found myself understood, so deeply, by an online article that it gave me courage I didn’t know I had. Already life has been clearer, easier, and more manageable because I understand myself in a way I didn’t before.

I’m a very emotional, idealistic Myers-Briggs, so my results will be more dramatic than yours. (Maybe.) But I guarantee it can only further understanding in your relationships to invest in the quiz and find out who your loved ones are.

Go discover.

 

Leave a Reply

