An Appreciation of Justin Bieber

Dear Justin:

 

You’re probably never going to read this, but nevertheless, it’s all true. And I wanted the people reading this to know it’s true, too.

I don’t know much about you. I’m the wrong age to like your music, and I readily admit that my irritation with Bieber fever was right up there with my distaste for Twilight. I never had anything against YOU, however. You sing incredibly well, and I was really happy that someone so young and talented had experienced so much success, in an almost Cinderella way.

But a lot of my likewise-irritated friends didn’t feel that way. They liked to make fun of you, post nasty memes that mocked you, and call you names. And I was upset. But then I grew out of high school and away from shallow friends, and I forgot.

Then you hit upper adolescence, and you started doing crazy things. And my facebook exploded again with all the mocking. And I’d read the comments of people I didn’t even know, and my stomach would twist with anger.

Don’t they know he’s a person?

And I prayed and hoped that you’d find a way to come out on top. And I prayed that all those people would realize that just because you’re famous doesn’t mean you don’t have a heart. Just because you’re lucky/unlucky enough to have your life on billboards for all the world to see, doesn’t mean that you’re alone in screwing up. If everyone’s teenage self-discovery-struggle was national news, I’d doubt they’d pull through as graciously as you have.

Because you have. I am deeply impressed. Again, I don’t know you too well. I don’t follow your comings and goings. But I’ve read enough about you recently to see that you’ve done what few young men have the guts and goodness to do. You’re rewriting yourself, you’re following your faith, and you’re taking responsibility for who you are. I can’t praise that enough.

To everyone who throws the name “Justin Bieber” around in jokes, who posts dirty memes, shut up.

I at least, remember you’re a person. I respect you. I wish you all the best in the world. Don’t ever give up, and remember that there are people like me watching, quietly, who support your new quest.

Keep it up, man.

Margaret Wells

Leave a Reply

