Wherein I Get Married in 1919, part 2

And so concludes the marvelous tale of how I got married in 1919, part 2!

It was a thrilling thing. We had eight shows on Saturday and six on Sunday, and I now understand a new meaning of the word exhaustion. As Ruth, I fought with my bitter sister, tried to convince my concerned father that Charles hadn’t been court marshaled for any valid reason, and finally dash out into the backyard in a wedding dress to hug Charles, who had arrived in the nick of time.

Here are photos. I felt like I was on the set of Downton Abbey. Ordinarily as an actress I have to fill in gaps in the set with my imagination, but for this it was all there.

163 165

The Servant’s Staircase    166

167  The Wedding Dress162

As for the conclusion of the tale… I decided to be cruel and never tell you. You’ll just have to come see it in Milwaukee next summer. It’s not to be missed.

Leave a Reply

